On Year 4: April’s Poems


snowdrops1It’s National Poetry Month!

It’s also April, which is my favorite month, because it is the month of beginnings for me–when the world is finally free of winter (despite this year’s attempts to hold on), and when the flowers begin to show.  (My birthday’s in April, too, and I love  my birthday.)  I tried, this year, to choose poems that addressed the month specifically, or at least mentioned it.  Strangely, only one student seemed to notice what I was doing–and on the day before spring break, she gave me her own poem, entitled “April,” for my birthday.  That’s a win right there.

April 1, Tuesday:  “Introduction to Poetry” by Billy Collins (though not actually an April poem, it seemed apropos to start off National Poetry Month).

Alicia Ostriker

Alicia Ostriker

April 2, Wednesday: “April Midnight” by Arthur Symons

April 3, Thursday:  “April” by Alicia Ostriker

April 4, Friday: “Shiloh:  A Requiem (April 1862)” by Herman Melville  (This one was for Ian, my social studies/Civil War buddy down the hall.)

April 7, Monday: “Early Spring in the Field” by Tom Hennen

April 8, Tuesday: “Spring” by Edna St. Vincent Millay

April 9, Wednesday: “Spring” by Marjorie Wentworth

April 10, Thursday: “In Perpetual Spring” by Amy Gerstler

April 11, Friday: “Today” by Billy Collins

Amy Gerstler

Amy Gerstler

April 14, Monday:  “This Morning I Could Do/ A Thousand Things” by Robert Hedin

April 15, Tuesday: “Rain” by Peter Everwine

April 16, Wednesday:  “Spring Song” by Edith Wharton

April 17, Thursday: “Home Thoughts from Abroad” by Robert Browning

April 18-27:  April vacation–no school.

April 28, Monday: “Morning” by Sara Teasdale

Heidi Mordhorst

Heidi Mordhorst

April 29, Tuesday: “April Gale”  by Heidi Mordhorst

April 30, Wednesday: “Dover Beach” by Matthew Arnold (just because I haven’t read it yet this year, and the first time I climbed Shakespeare Cliff was in April).

Next month:  May.  The end of this school year, and the end of my fourth year in this read-a-poem-a-day to the students (whether they like it or not!).  I hope some of you out there can send me some suggestions for pieces to make the school year go out with a bang.  Help me out?

 

dover beach

1 Comment

  1. One of my favourite poems has May right at the beginning: http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/afterwards/

    So many traditional English folk songs begin with variations on “As I walked out one May morning” – might be fun to do one and play a clip of somebody singing it (take an iPad into the classroom?). Lots of variations here: http://mainlynorfolk.info/louis.killen/songs/seventeencomesunday.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,000 other followers

