On Year 4: December’s Poems


snowfall

December has been cold and snowy.  It is snowing now as I write this, in fact, and is due to snow and sleet all weekend–but it’s no matter, as now it’s closing in on winter break.  Fortunately, there’s something about snow that inspires poets:  there are many many choices for snowy poems to read.  And of course, we had to end with Robert Frost, a poem that they all  already knew.

Oh, and before I forget?  This month brought me a boy in sixth period who now, every day, asks if he can be the one who reads the poem at the beginning of class.  As far as I’m concerned, this is a win of the first order.

And here they are:

December 2, Monday:  “How It Is That the Snow” by Robert Haight

December 3, Tuesday: “December Notes” by Nancy McCleery

December 4, Wednesday: “I Felt a Funeral in My Brain” by Emily Dickinson (for my friend Susan Phillips–one of the first non-family members I remember from my childhood–who died Tuesday morning.  That’s left me confused.)

Eleanor Wilner

Eleanor Wilner

December 5, Thursday:  “Somewhere or Other” by Christina Rossetti

December 6, Friday:  “Ex Libris” by Eleanor Wilner

December 9, Monday: “I Looked Up” by Mary Oliver

December 10, Tuesday:  “Winter” by Walter de la Mare

December 11, Wednesday:  “Winter Trees” by William Carlos Williams

December 12, Thursday:  “Choices” by Tess Gallegher

gallagher

Tess Gallagher

December 13, Friday: “Blizzard” by William Carlos Williams

December 16, Monday: “To the Evening Star:  Central Minnesota” by James Wright

December 17, Tuesday: “Dust of Snow” by Robert Frost

December 18, Wednesday: “The Journey” by Mary Oliver

December 19, Thursday: “The Night of the Snowfall” by Mo H. Saidi

December 20, Friday:  “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” by Robert Frost

And now–vacation!  Next poem on January 2, and if anyone wishes to make suggestions, they are more than welcome.

And miles to go before I sleep.

2 Comments

  1. Trisha

    Dearest Anne…I soooooooo enjoyed each and every poem this month! There is something of a winter in my Soul….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,015 other followers

